Westside Tennis League
Golden Racquet Award Winning Team Captains

Latest News

Schedule Update

League schedules cannot be completed without confirmation from all teams of their location. We are currently waiting for several teams to confirm where they are playing next season.

Our Sponsors

Message Center

How to Change Your Roster (Patricia Lombard   Nov 1)
View

Click the link below to find the document on how to edit your roster. 

https://wtl.tenniscores.com/leaguedata/library/320/HowToEditYourRoster.pdf

All roster changes may be made starting Thursday, November 1 at 8 am and must be completed by Saturday, November 3 at 8 pm. New rosters can be use the following Monday, November 5.

Please feel free to contact one of the board members if you have any questions. For technical questions, you can call Patty Lombard at 323-314-2266. 

How to Use the Scorecard (Patricia Lombard   Nov 1)
View

Click here to read a short pdf on how to use the scorecard feature on the website. 

https://wtl.tenniscores.com/leaguedata/library/320/Using_the_Scorecard_Feature.pdf

Thought for the Day (Barbara Garner   Apr 9)
View

 

Winners are good losers.   

Tennis Rules We May Not Know (Barbara Garner   Mar 24)
View

 

 

TENNIS RULES WE MAY NOT KNOW

Q. Where must the server stand when serving the ball?

A. When serving in a standard game, the server shall stand behind alternate halves of the court, starting from the right half of the court in every game. In a tie-break game, the service shall be served from behind alternate halves of the court, with the first served from the right half of the court. The service shall pass over the net and hit the service court diagonally opposite, before the receiver returns it.

Q. Is there any situation where a player can legally reach over the net to make a shot?

A. Yes.

Q. Today when I was going for a shot my racket accidentally hit the fence when I hit the ball. The ball did not touch the fence, just my racket. Is this considered a legal shot?

A. As long as the ball didn’t hit the fence before it landed on the other side of the court, it is a legal shot. It would be the same if you ran into the fence while hitting the ball.

Q. Today my partner and I were in the middle of playing a tiebreaker and accidentally switched sides (deuce side playing ad side and vice versa). After two points were played we realized we were in the wrong positions. Do we go back to the score we had before the mistake and replay the points? Or do the points stand as played even though we were on the wrong sides.

A. The points stand as played even if you were on the wrong side. There is no going back to replay the points. It would be the same thing during a regular set. The same would happen if a player served out of turn. All points played until the correction is made would stand as played.

Q. Can a player's own action be the basis for that player claiming a let or a hindrance?

If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player(s) who hit the shot, the

opponent(s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent’s

court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball. If the opponent does not

play the ball and it bounces on the side of the player who hit the spin shot, that player who hit that shot wins

the point.

No. Nothing a player does entitles that player to call a let. For example, a player is not entitled to a let

because the player breaks a string, the player's hat falls off, or a ball in the player's pocket falls out.

Q. In a doubles match, the server served out of turn in a tie-breaker. The receiver knew it was the wrong server and stood there (in a relaxed position) waiting for the opposing team to figure it out. However, the server proceeded to serve and claimed the point. What’s the ruling here?

A. There are all sorts of procedures for correcting mistakes for serving, receiving, tiebreaks, sides, rotation, etc. However one thing always is the case: Any point played to its conclusion stands. In your case no one said anything. The point was played. The mistake was then confirmed. The error is corrected according the Rules. However that point played still stands.

Q. During a recent match playing doubles, my partner fell during a point and we continued to play the point out while she was on the ground (obviously not injured). We did go on to win the point. Afterward, we discussed this and we were not sure if this should be called a let. We took the point as none of us knew the ruling for this situation.

A. Falling down or dropping the racket when hitting the ball are situations that can occur on court and are considered a normal part of the game and are not considered a hindrance

Q. In a recent doubles match our opponents served to my partner, the ball was clearly long and hit my partner on the foot before hitting the ground. What is the rule on this?

A. If any ball (during the service or a rally) hits a player before it hits the ground, no matter where that opposing player(s) is standing and no matter how far out the ball was heading, that player/team loses the point.

Exception: If a service let hits an opponent before the ball bounces, then it is a "let" serve.

Q. In play a ball is volleyed and hits the opponent and then comes back over the net. Is the ball still in play?

A. No. You cannot hit the ball with any part of your body, only with the racket itself. If the ball touches any part of you (including your hand), you lose the point, even if it came off your racket before or after it touched your body.

Q. What is the rule on intentionally hitting a player? I understand that it’s hard to prove but how many hard shots at your head/body constitutes a foul? I recently played a match that every time I approached the net my opponent would just hit as hard as he could right at me without any attempt to lob or hit a passing shot. What can be done about this and is this specifically addressed in the rules?

A: There is not a lot one can do. If the player says I am going to hit you the next time I get an opportunity and does so, that could be deemed unsportsmanlike conduct. Just saying it could be a conduct penalty if there are officials. Other than that, stay alert. There is no rule to prohibit a player from hitting the ball at their opponent at any pace.

Q. In a Westside League match, when does the pro have to vacate the courts designated for play?

At 9:00 a.m. the pro has to leave the court to allow both teams to begin their warm-ups. An opposing team is required to warm up with their opponents for 10 minutes if either captain requests it. The match can start at any time that all four players are ready. They do NOT have to wait until 9:30 a.m.

Q. In a Westside League match, instead of playing a third set, can all four players agree to play a 10 point tie breaker?

No. Our rules state that three sets must be played. If it is a heat issue, then the third set can be postponed to another date, but that is only by agreement of all four players. If a team cannot complete the match, they must retire.

Q. How many vibration devices can be used on the racket and where should they be placed. I played a match where my opponent played with two vibrators on his racket. This gave a unique spin on the ball. Is this legal?

Dampening devices may be located on the outside of the last cross string on the sides, top and/or bottom of the racket face. Multiple devices are permitted. The device may not be placed inside the outside cross strings but the device may touch the outside cross strings.

Q. What happens when a server hits his own partner when serving

If it was on the 1st serve it is a fault and you play a 2nd serve. It it was on the 2nd serve, that is a double fault.

Q. What is NOT considered a medical time out

From USTA Handbook – page 109
4. Non-treatable medical conditions. Players may not receive a Medical Timeout or treatment any time during a match or a warm-up for the following medical conditions: a. Any medical condition that cannot be treated appropriately during a match, such as degenerative conditions not helped or eased by on court treatment; b. General player fatigue, such as fatigue not accompanied by cramps, vomiting, dizziness, blisters, or other similar treatable conditions; and c. Any medical condition requiring injection, intravenous infusion, or supplemental oxygen. A player who receives any injection, intravenous infusion, or supplemental oxygen, except under circumstances specifically authorized by USTA Regulations, shall be immediately defaulted. Diabetics may use devices to check blood sugar, may administer subcutaneous injections of insulin, and may use battery-powered insulin pumps. Asthmatics may use hand-held, non-battery, or non- electrical inhalers.

Ball Bounces Back Over the Net

"IF: the ball bounces in the opponent's court and spins back over the net and bounces in your court the

point ends and you win the point. This is because the opponent did not make contact with the ball while it

was in his court/his turn to make contact. As soon as the ball bounces in your court the point is dead and

you're awarded the point.

IF: the ball bounces in the opponent's court and spins back over the net and the opponent makes contact

with the ball before it bounces in your court and correctly hits the ball into play, then play continues

normally (see Rule 25b, which states that a player can reach over the net to contact a ball that has spun back over as long as he/she respects Rule 24; and Rule 24 Case 4, which states that a player can make

contact with the ball after it has crossed back over the net as long as that player doesn't touch either the

net or his opponent's court).

IF: the ball bounces in your opponent's court and spins backwards around a net post, the opponent can hit

the ball back into your court without clearing the net (see: Rule 25c).

Topic: Dropping racquets

Q. My doubles opponent recently hit a volley very close to the net and her racquet flew out of her hand, hit on her side of the court and then bounced over the net onto my side. Was it my point since her racquet came onto my side of the court, or should we have played a let?

Q. I was serving to the deuce court in a doubles match (I’m right handed) and my racquet flew out of my hand after I struck the ball. It skidded off the court to the right, outside of the net post. It ended up even with my opponents' side of the court, but not on it. It did not hit the net post, the net or any opponent. The serve was good and the receiver pushed the ball long. My point, right?

Answer: Two good questions about dropped racquets. First, the act of dropping a racquet or having the racquet fly out of a player’s hand during play, if not intentional, is not considered a hindrance to the opponent. It is a part of the game. It happens. However, if the escaped racquet touches the net or lands on the opponent’s side of the court (within the lines) while the ball is still in play, then it is loss of point to the player who lost the racquet.

Q. After a tie break, do you change ends from the side you started the tie break or from the side you are at when the tie break ends?

A. Change ends from the side you ended the tiebreak.

Q. Can you advise what determines the next server of the set following a tiebreaker?

A: Whoever served first in the tiebreak, the same player (team) who also served the first game of the set, receives to start the next set.

Q. In which court is the first point of a tiebreak served?

A: The deuce court.

Q. Is there a limit to the number of tosses you can have before you actually serve the ball?

A. There is no limit to the number of bad tosses that a player may choose NOT to hit.

Q. Can a server call his own let if he thinks the ball hit the net, but no one else heard it?

A. The answer is yes, a server may call a “let” if he/she hears it.

Q. Are we required to warm up with our opponents prior to the match?

A. Yes, if a team asks you to warm up with them, you are obligated to hit with them for 10 minutes prior to the match starting. This is a Westside Tennis League Rule.

Q. After my partner hit a very good return, another tennis ball came rolling onto our court. Neither one of our opponents called a let. Our opponent gave us the point because he said he felt his partner did not have a chance of getting to the ball we just returned. His partner said he was wrong. A let is a let, even though his partner felt he would not have gotten to the ball. What do you think? Should we have replayed the point? We wanted to, but our opponent's partner said no, so we got the point.

A. If you have no chance for a ball and a ball rolling onto the court would have made no difference, do the right thing -- give the point to your opponents.

One can always make a case that a player could have made some play on the ball when this happens. Technically, players may call a let if the point had not been completed when the hindrance of the stray ball from another court arrived. However, a good sport knows if they had a play or not, and a good sport knows the difference between a legitimate hindrance and taking advantage of a situation.

Q. If a player is stung by a bee during play can she/he call a let? Is this a medical time out? A hindrance?

A. One can have a Medical Time Out for a sting. If a bee stings a player during the middle of the point it is considered an unintentional hindrance and a let can be played. Play must be stopped at the moment of the sting. A player may not continue the point after the sting, eventually lose the point, and then claim a let.

Q. I would expect that in most cases the answer to this question should be "no". However, what is the proper etiquette for a spectator who believes a player’s health to be in danger? Specifically, if a ball is rolling over from an adjacent court to a spot behind a player, and you see that player backing up toward the ball with a good likelihood of stepping on it and potentially twisting an ankle or knee? Does safety outweigh normal etiquette in this case? Should the ball be a let or should the player from the spectator’s team automatically forfeit the point for a rules infraction?

A. A player from another court may not stop play on someone else’s court even if a ball from their court may interfere with play on adjacent courts.

Q. During a doubles match, my side hit the ball deep into our opponents court. Simultaneous as my opponent was about to swing, an errant ball (from the court to the right of us) bounces through the middle of my side of the court ( I am in foreword court) and finalizes at the fence. Because I was distracted by the errant ball I said "let". The opponent returned his shot for a winner and claimed it was their point because the errant ball was not a distraction to him. I was just curious what the official ruling would have been.

A. If a hindrance occurs for either player on a doubles team and one of the players calls a let before the point has been completed, then a let should be played.

Q. I am a left-handed tennis player. During play, I have found that I can hit the tennis ball almost as well with my right hand as I do with my left. Do USTA rules forbid players to switch hands during play?

A. No. You can play with either hand. In fact, three-time USTA national champion Marty Devlin of Trenton, NJ has employed this “two forehands” style since he started playing tennis. The old joke when people were preparing to play Marty was to hit to his backhand. But, alas, he has no backhand.

Q. On the coin toss at the beginning of a match, what are the choices for the winner of the coin toss?

A. After the coin toss or, more commonly, the spin of the racquet, prior to the beginning of a match you have three choices:

1. Serve or receive first.
2. Choice of side to begin the match.
3. Decision to defer the choice to opponent.

Q. I like to call "out!" to my partner in doubles as a substitute for "let it go" but opponents complained that I cannot use that specific word. They say it's the same as an early line call, and they relaxed on the point even though my partner ignored it and played the ball. What word[s] can one use to advise their partner? My opponents say "bounce" is acceptable, but not "no, long, wide, back, deep," - what do professionals say? Thanks for your time.

A. You cannot say anything that will hinder your opponent(s), so long as the ball is moving toward your opponents’ side of the court. The scenario you have described is different though. By yelling “Out!” to your doubles partner- to assure that he lets a ball fly past that you estimate will land outside the lines- that is a far cry from an “early line call.” If your judgment is incorrect, and the ball lands on or inside the line, then play continues

Catching the Ball

If a player standing outside the court catches a ball before it bounces, that player loses the point. The ball must hit the ground first for the ball to be ruled out before a player can catch it or stop it with his body.

Ball Touches Permanent Fixture

Permanent fixtures are items such as fences, chairs, umpire stand, lights and spectators. If the ball touches, or hits, a permanent fixture after it has landed in the correct court, the player who hit the ball wins the point. If the ball touches a permanent fixture before it has hit the ground, the player who hit the ball loses the point.

Q. Who Calls a Double Bounce?

A: Only the player that hit the ball can call a double bounce. Even if the opponent thinks the ball bounced twice it is not their call. Play should continue until one side wins the point.

Q. I was playing singles and hit a short shot, we both came up to the net. I clearly saw the double bounce and saw her hit the ball on the second bounce. My opponent argued that she hit the ball on the first bounce. What should I do at that point as I felt it was clearly a double bounce?

A. The person who hits the ball is responsible for calling a double bounce against themselves. It is not their opponents call to make. You can ask that player if they are certain of that call. However, again, it is up to that player to make that call.

Retrieving stray balls. Each player is responsible for removing stray balls and other objects from the player’s end of the court. Whenever a ball is not in play, a player must honor an opponent’s request to remove a ball from the court or from an area outside the court that is reasonably close to the lines.

Hindrance Issues

USTA Comment 26.2: Can a player’s own action be the basis for that player claiming a let or a hindrance? No. Nothing a player does entitles that player to call a let. For example, a player is not entitled to a let because the player breaks a string, the player’s hat falls off, or a ball in the player’s pocket falls out.

Claiming a hindrance. A player who claims a hindrance must stop play as
hindrance. For example, if a doubles player hits a weak lob and yells “get back” and the yell
distracts an opponent who is about to hit the ball, then the opponent may claim the point based on a deliberate hindrance. If the opponent chooses to play the lob and misses it, the opponent loses the point because the opponent did not make a timely claim of hindrance.
For example, if a player yells after an injury or getting stung by a bee, this is an unintentional hindrance that would entitle the opponent to claim a let.

Foot Faulting
Q. Can your opponent call foot fault on you when there is no referee?

A. The Code states that “compliance with the foot fault rule is very much a function of the player’s personal honor system.” If a player is committing flagrant foot faults, then an opponent CAN call him/her on it. But it is a pretty bold move to do so. He/she had better be certain that you have stepped on or over the line prior to contact before making this call.

For the record, habitual foot faulting is as bad as intentionally cheating on line calls. That said, I always urge players to focus on their side of the net, and executing their returns of serve, instead of worrying about whether an opponent has or has not stepped on or over the baseline during the serve.

Q. In a league match (no officials around), what happens when someone is told they are foot faulting, and they (a) disagree, or (b) say "sorry" but do it again. Who gets to decide if they should lose the point?

A. Ahhh... this seems to be a lingering issue...

If they are truly guilty of foot faulting, then they are cheating. If they disagree or continue doing it, then you have a challenging situation on your hands. I would advise you to avoid worrying about their side of the net and concentrate on what you need to do to win the next point.

There will always be players out there who cheat, sometimes- of course- unwittingly. It is your prerogative to handle yourself. If they CHOOSE to cheat, there is not much that you can do to get satisfaction. Maybe try extra hard to beat them.

Q. I would like to know the appropriate course of action to take when an opponent is grossly foot faulting consistently. I found myself in this situation recently, and was not sure how to handle the situation and stay within USTA guidelines.

A. Ask them politely to stop stepping over the line when they serve. You had BETTER be sure that you are in the right though. Remember, you are basically telling them that they are cheating- so be careful with how you handle this accusation.

Taking this a step further, I realize that a “foot fault” is not legal and that it should be considered a missed serve. However, as an opponent, does the foot fault have much effect on your own play? Not really. You might be better served to just concentrate on your side of the court.

Q. The opponent hits the ball and in so doing her racquet goes flying off to the side, making a large noise and distracting me as I am about to hit an easy ball at the net. I want to call a hindrance. Can I?

A. Losing your racket accidentally in an attempt to play a shot is considered part of play and is not considered a hindrance.

 

Match Days for Next Year (Patricia Lombard   Apr 21)
View

Rotation of League Match Days 2018-2019
 
Division 1 will play on Thursday
Division 2 will play on Wednesday
Division 3 will play on Friday
Division 4 will play on Tuesday
Division 5 will play on Monday 
 
In 2015, the captains approved the following formula for the annual rotation of playing days among the divisions as the most fair and equitable way to rotate. As we approach the end of the 2017-2018 season, please keep this in mind and remind your players. 
 
Approved Formula:
Teams who now play on Monday move to Wednesday for the following year.
Teams who now play on Tuesday move to Thursday for the following year.
Teams who now play on Wednesday move to Friday for the following year.
Teams who now play on Thursday move to Monday for the following year. 
Teams who now play on Friday move to Tuesday for the following year.
 
In following years, here's what the schedule will look like:
 
2019-2020:
Division 1 will play on Monday
Division 2 will play on Friday
Division 3 will play on Tuesday
Division 4 will play on Thursday
Division 5 will play on Wednesday
 
2020-2021:
Division 1 will play on Wednesday
Division 2 will play on Tuesday
Division 3 will play on Thursday
Division 4 will play on Monday
Division 5 will play on Friday
 
2021-2022:
Division 1 will play on Friday
Division 2 will play on Thursday
Division 3 will play on Monday
Division 4 will play on Wednesday
Division 5 will play on Tuesday

 


Team Points Weeks
Beverly Hills Tennis Center 0 0/16
Cheviot Hills Rec Center 0 0/16
Griffin Club Los Angeles 0 0/16
Los Angeles Tennis Club 0 0/16
Mountaingate 0 0/16
Pacific Palisades l 0 0/16
Pacific Palisades ll 0 0/16
Pepperdine Crest 0 0/16
Weddington 0 0/16
View Full StandingsView Weekly Standings


Week 1
Sep 9 - Sep 15, 2019
 
 

Once Downloaded to Your iPhone,
enter "wtl"
Online Scoring & League Management System
© 2008-2019. All Rights Reserved.
> Contact Us
> About Us
> Privacy
> Terms & Conditions
Also check out our other platforms